Skip to Site Navigation Memorial Hospital | Children's Colorado Memorial | Foundation | PhysicianLink

Sep 4: Memorial Health System Announces New Board Members

For Immediate Release

September 4, 2007

As a cornerstone of the Colorado Springs community for more than a century, Memorial Health System is owned by the citizens of Colorado Springs but receives no tax support. Memorial's leaders include a City Council-appointed board of trustees, which proudly announces the addition of five new members: General Lance W. Lord, Dr. Kailash Jaitly, Gordon Jeffrey Murrell, Allan Roth, and Dr. Marijane Axtell Paulsen.

General (ret.) Lance W. Lord was the commander of the Air Force Space Command of Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado. He retired in April 2006. In this role, he was responsible for the development, acquisition, and operation of the Air Force's space and missile systems and served as director of plans and vice commander for Headquarters, Air Force Space Command. Furthermore, Lord held the position of assistant vice chief of staff for Headquarters, U.S. Air Force Space Command.

Dr. Kailash Jaitly was the director of child and adolescent psychiatry division at the Colorado Mental Health Institute in Pueblo for twenty six years. Jaitly has an additional ten years of service with the Colorado State Juvenile Correctional Division as a senior psychologist and program manager. Since 1994, he has been a clinical psychologist in private practice with a specialty in child neuropsychology.

Gordon Jeffrey (Jeff) Murrell recently retired from a 42 year career in information technology and customer service. Most recently, he was a senior program manager at Hewlett-Packard, and previously served as director of HP's Commercial Customer Support Center. Currently, Murrell is a board trustee of Pikes Peak United Way, having previously served as chairman and interim CEO.

Allan Roth is the principal of Wealth Logic, LLC. He is a CPA and certified financial planner and founder of a boutique, hourly-based financial planning and licensed investment advisory firm. Roth writes the personal finance column for the Colorado Springs Business Journal, teaches finance at the UCCS College of Business, and serves on the Board of the Peak Venture Group.

Dr. Marijane Axtell Paulsen is the CEO/president of Colorado Technical University Division. Since holding the role of president of Pikes Peak Community College from 1989 to 2000, Paulsen has remained active in the community, serving as chairman on volunteer boards including the Greater Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce, Economic Development Corporation, and Pikes Peak Library Foundation Board.

Appointed by the Colorado Springs City Council, Memorial Health System Board of Trustees provides oversight on hospital planning, budgeting, and operations. In addition to the five new members, the board includes: Janice M. Weiland (Chair), Mike L. Edmonds, Ph.D. (Vice-Chair), Curtis C. Brown, Yolanda Fennick, Donald P. Gazibara, M.D., Linda Fay Halbouty, Paul Johnson, James E. Miller, James P. Moore, and Arlene Patterson Stein, PhD RN.


For more information, please contact Memorial Health System's Public Relations Office at (719) 365-5235.